Gluten-free LIFESTYLE                                                                                                        2008     All rights reserved.
Gluten-free LIFESTYLE
Gluten-free is more than a diet it's a Lifestyle!

Gluten-free: no wheat, rye, barley or oats

Learning to eat a gluten-free diet can be time consuming, overwhelming and just plain
difficult. I prefer to start by telling you what you can eat.

On a gluten-free diet you CAN eat fruits, vegetables, meat, poultry, fish, seafood, eggs,
dairy products (such as milk, cottage cheese, plain yogurt, cheese (not blue cheese),  
potatoes, rice, nuts, brown-rice pasta, juice, gelatin (most, check label), (selected) puddings,
corn tortilla chips, ice cream (without cookie crumbs etc), popcorn and more.

People with Celiac Disease must adhere to a strict gluten-free diet. Celiac Disease is not the
only health disorder related to gluten sensitivity, it is just the most well known. Many people
are gluten intolerant. Numerous other health conditions can be helped by eating a
gluten-free diet, including Rheumatoid Arthritis, MS, HIV, dermatitis herpetiformis (itchy,
blistering skin), psoriasis, IBS, Crohns Disease, Colitis, thyroid disease, osteoporosis,
depression, and schizophrenia.  Approximately 10% of type 1 Diabetics have Celiac Disease.

On a gluten-free diet you omit wheat, rye, barley and oats and their derivatives. Some
doctors believe after you have been on a gluten-free diet for a period of time oats can be
added back to your diet. Oats are still controversial.

Condiments, sauces, seasonings and many other ingredients may have gluten in them.
Reading labels is much harder than just looking for wheat, rye, barley and oats.  Beware of
malt, spelt, triticale, food starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), hydrolyzed plant
protein (HPP), kamut and much more.

Gluten can be found in artificial color or flavoring, caramel color, dextrin, MSG, mono &
diglycerides, fillers, binders and even protein.  You should be aware that "wheat-free" does
not mean "gluten-free".

Products other than food also may contain gluten. Medicines, toothpaste, skin lotion,
make-up and many other everyday products we use.

Always call, email, or write to the company if you are in doubt or suspect a product contains
gluten. You can find ingredients for many products online. Companies change ingredients
all the time so don't hesitate to contact them.

You can find gluten-free foods at health food stores and on-line stores. Some larger grocery
stores now have special sections for gluten-free foods. The key is to learn which gluten-free
food and everyday products can be found in any store. It is time consuming and almost
impossible with ingredients changing all the time.  

You almost need to be a scientist to figure it all out on your own. I hope you find this site
helpful. As I receive new information I will be updating this site. I feel everyone should be
able to walk into any store and know which foods and everyday products are gluten-free
without having to stand in the aisle and read every label.

My favorite snacks were the first foods I researched when I went gluten-free.
I thought that was the perfect starting place!